Welcome to my Sweet Life…

Firstly, I would like to thank you for visiting my Blog. I know you could rather be surfing the internet on fascinating sites like Facebook for example, to get your daily fix on what your friends are up to and the mere fact that you’re reading my blog means I’ve stolen your attention, if only for a short while, and that for me is the cherry on a triple layer chocolate cake.

Well if you’ve read my about page you would’ve figured out the sort of person I am, my likes and interests, so I won’t bore you with that. The reason for this blog was to fulfil one of my writing goals on expressing my thoughts on various topics that holds appeal to me and to interact with like-minded people all over the world.

I somehow wished that I had started this blog sooner, for it feels surreal commencing it at a stage when I’m undertaking a major op and I’m in the prime of my life. You see, I’m a runner and undergoing a bilateral bunionectomy means I would have to completely forsake running until my feet are fully healed.

The whole saga started when I was deep in training for my very first marathon and one of my bunions became inflamed. And NO, it wasn’t the running that caused this flare up, but rather my fashionable boots that were the biggest instigators!!! My feet were screaming blue murder – begging me to take them off, but no I was rocking them with skinny jeans and there was no way I was going to ruin my outfit by changing to flats!!! When I eventually had the chance to rip them off, I was presented with an inflamed bunion!!! The pain was excruciating, it felt like someone was hammering my bone continuously. Conservative methods of reducing the pain didn’t dull the aching and I had to finally resort to a cortisone injection to numb the throbbing. However, the Orthopaedic Surgeon broke the news to me that I needed to undergo a bilateral bunionectomy sooner rather than later, for my condition would only deteriorate. When I enquired how long it would take to fully recover and return to running, he admonished “anywhere from six months to a year!!!”

To say I was devastated would be an understatement. Ask any runner how they would react to taking a week off running, let alone a month – it felt like a death sentence!!! But the more rationally I thought about it, the more I came to the realisation that I needed to get it done at some point. As fate would have it, I picked up a further ligament strain injury before the marathon and was forced to take time off and eventually had to forego the marathon altogether!!! As they say – the writing was on the wall and my running days were seriously numbered!!!

But the way I see it now, is that God has a bigger plan for me. You see my passion has always been writing, but ever since running took centre stage in my life, I’ve been feeling like I had to divide myself into tiny pieces balancing family life, running and writing. I couldn’t do it all… and now I’m compelled to put my running on hold to concentrate on sorting out my feet. Which means I finally have time to concentrate on writing:).

This blog, as the title depicts is my sweet life – even though I might be headed into surgery, a long recovery period and eventually back to running – I will attempt to keep my experiences truthful to what I am experiencing to anybody contemplating undergoing a similar operation.

My promise to you is to write about my life, my experiences, hopes and dreams and I will strive to keep it sweet at all times … follow me and you might be pleasantly surprised:).

Published by

Sumi Singh

Romance Author, Blogger, Wife, Mom, Runner and Swimmer. Oh, and I have a full-time job too! Superwoman would do, but she's already taken :-)

5 thoughts on “Welcome to my Sweet Life…”

Leave a comment